Wyoming AD Tom Burman Named to College Football Playoff Selection Committee

in News/University of Wyoming

Wyoming Athletic Director Tom Burman today was named to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.

Burman will be on the 13-member panel which selects the weekly top 25 rankings beginning each November and leads to the selection of the four teams that compete in the College Football Playoff. The committee also selects the New Year’s Day bowl games.

“It’s a special honor,” Burman told Mountain West Conference Network host Jesse Kurtz. “When you look at the committees available in college football, this is definitely one of the premiere committees. It’s an honor to be a part of it.”

Burman was joined by Colorado Athletic Director Rick George and former Penn State player John Urschel.

The group replaces former Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer, Robert Morris University president Chris Howard and Oregon Athletic Director Rob Mullens as their terms expired in December.

Burman has been the athletic director at the University of Wyoming for 14 years.

During his time as athletics director at UW, Burman has led over $120 million in fundraising projects. 

Among the most high profile of those projects is Wyoming’s new $44 million Mick and Susie McMurry High Altitude Performance Center (HAPC), which opened in August  of 2018. 

The facility is home to Cowboy Football, and it also benefits all Wyoming’s student-athletes with two new state-of-the-art strength and conditioning areas, an expansive academic center, a comprehensive sports medicine area and a cutting edge training table.  

Latest from News

0 $0.00
Go to Top