Biden Appoints Gordon to Bipartisan Council of Governors

President Joe Biden has appointed Gov. Mark Gordon to a bipartisan Council of Governors, the governor's office announced on Thursday.

Ellen Fike

July 08, 20212 min read

Pjimage 2021 06 14 T195218 508

President Joe Biden has appointed Gov. Mark Gordon to a bipartisan Council of Governors, the governor’s office announced on Thursday.

Gordon is one of nine governors appointed to a two-year term on the council, which was authorized and required by the National Defense Authorization Act in 2008 under President George W. Bush. The council serves as a forum to strengthen partnerships between federal and state governments to better protect the nation from threats to homeland security and other types of hazards.

The council focuses on matters of homeland security, homeland defense, civil support, synchronization and integration of state and federal military activities in the United States and other matters of mutual interest, including those involving the National Guard.

“From the very founding of our country, Americans have depended on our National Guard,” Gordon said. “The men and women who serve in our Army and Air Guard are always there for us, and we should always be grateful for their service. I am honored and humbled to have been asked to serve on the Council because of the important role it plays.”

The council includes leaders across the Federal government: the Secretary of Defense, the Secretary of Homeland Security, the Assistant to the President for Homeland Security, the Deputy Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs, the Commander of U.S. Northern Command, the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Global Security, the Commandant of the Coast Guard, and the Chief of the National Guard Bureau.

Other key federal officials such as the administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are regular participants.

The current council is:

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine, Co-Chair
Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz, Co-Chair
Delaware Gov. John Carney
Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards
Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer
Oregon Gov. Kate Brown
Utah Gov. Spencer Cox
Vermont Gov. Phil Scott
Wyoming Gov. Mark Gordon

The nine newly appointed Governors will join Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee on the council. Lee’s term expires in 2022.

Share this article



Ellen Fike