C.J. Box Announces Latest Joe Pickett Novel

"Dark Sky" is the 21st book in the series following the fictional Wyoming game warden.

Ellen Fike

July 08, 20202 min read

Cj box headshot
(Cowboy State Daily Staff)

Famed Wyoming author C.J. Box on Wednesday announced his latest novel in the Joe Pickett series will be published March 2, 2021 and that it is available for pre-order through Amazon now.

“Dark Sky” is the 21st book in the series following the fictional Wyoming game warden.

According to the plot description on the Amazon listing, Pickett must accompany a Silicon Valley CEO on a hunting trip, but quickly discovers he’s the one being hunted.

“The governor of Wyoming gives Joe the thankless assignment of taking a tech baron on a hunting trip. Unbeknownst to them, as they trek further into the wilderness, a hunter is hot on their heels. Joe must rely on his wits and his knowledge of the outdoors to protect himself and his charge,” the preview reads.

“Meanwhile, when Joe’s closest friend Nate Romanowski and his own daughter Sheridan learn of the threat to his life, they follow him into the woods to rescue him, and all three come together for one final showdown,” it reads.

Box is a New York Times bestselling author and published the first book in the Pickett series, “Open Season,” in 2001. He recently announced that his book series following Cassie Dewell would be picked up for a series on ABC this fall.

The Wyoming native has worked as a ranch hand, surveyor, fishing guide, a small town newspaper reporter and editor, and he owned an international tourism marketing firm with his wife Laurie.

In 2008, Box was awarded the “BIG WYO” Award from the state tourism industry. An avid outdoorsman, Box has hunted, fished, hiked, ridden, and skied throughout Wyoming and the Mountain West.

He served on the Board of Directors for the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo and is currently serving on the Wyoming Tourism Board. He lives in Wyoming.

Share this article



Ellen Fike