By Jim Angell, Cowboy State Daily
Wyoming’s legal age for consuming nicotine products will match up with the federal government’s under a bill signed into law by Gov. Mark Gordon on Friday.
Senate File 50 was one of 29 bills from the Legislature’s recent budget session signed into law. It would prohibit the sale of any products containing nicotine, including vaping materials, to people age 21 and older.
Prior to the bill’s approval, the legal age for people to use nicotine was 18. When the federal government set the age at 21 earlier this year, there was no way for Wyoming authorities to enforce the law because Wyoming’s law set the age at 18.
Under the law, anyone caught selling or delivering nicotine products to a person under the age of 21 could be fined up to $250 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.